Aug 21, 2010

Rock Saw Press poetry chapbook series

RockSaw Press will be reading from April 8th through August 31st, 2010. Anything postmarked before or after these dates will be returned unread. We will only be considering manuscripts of poetry during this reading period. Between January and May 2011, RockSaw Press will publish three poetry chapbooks, one of which will be the winner of the inaugural Blue Skunk Poetry Series contest, judged by Steve Gehrke. See guidelines below.

General Submission Guidelines:

Submissions of poetry manuscripts should be under 24 pages. Please number pages in manuscript with each new poem starting on a new page. One submission per author at a time. If you hear back from us within the reading window, feel free to submit another manuscript. Include a SASE for response. If you want receipt confirmation, also include as addressed and stamped postcard.

Include a cover page with name, address, e-mail, phone number and title of manuscript. Also include a title page with just the title of the manuscript. Author name must not appear on the manuscript.
We cannot return manuscripts so do not send your only copy. Simultaneous submissions ok if noted and we are informed immediately if accepted elsewhere.

Previously published work is fine, so long as it hasn't been published in book form (chapbook or full length).

Blue Skunk Poetry Series
Submission Guidelines:
To read a little about the series, the hows, whys, and whatfors, visit

Follow general submission guidelines plus:
Add to cover page: Contest submission.
A non-refundable reading fee of $7.00 should be made payable to RockSaw Press, or paid with well-concealed cash.

Winner will receive 20 copies of the chapbook and a $100 prize (prize amount may increase depending on amount of submissions).

Finalists for the contest will be judged by Steve Gehrke.
Gehrke was raised in Mankato, Minnesota. He graduated from the University of Missouri with a Ph.D., where he was poetry editor of the Missouri Review. He teaches at Gettysburg College. His work has appeared in The Georgia Review, Indiana Review, Slate, The Iowa Review, and The Kenyon Review. In 1999, he received the John Ciardi Prize for Poetry, in 2002 the Philip Levine Prize in Poetry, and in 2009 the Lannan Foundation, Marfa Residency. His books include The Resurrection Machine, published in 2000, The Pyramids of Malpighi, published in 2004, and Michelangelo's Seizure in 2007.

Submissions not selected for the Blue Skunk Poetry Series will be considered for general publication.

(We only take snail mail submissions)
All submissions should be mailed to:

RockSaw Press
317 ½ E. Main St.
Mankato, MN 56001

All guidelines can be found on our website, <>. Any questions can be addressed to Jorge Evans, Managing Editor, at <rocksawpress(at)> (replace (at) with @). <>.

No comments: