Sep 9, 2008

Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prizes for 2008

These prizes have been established by Marvin Rosenberg in memory of his late wife, Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg. The intent is to encourage the work of new, young poets. Several prizes varying from $1,000 up to as much as $25,000 will be awarded for the finest lyric poems celebrating the spirit of life.

The competition is open to any writer under the age of 40 on November 6, 2008. All poets, published or unpublished, are welcome to enter, but only previously unpublished poems are eligible for the competition.

Each entrant may submit one to three separate poems. Submissions must be in English, the original work of the entrant, and previously unpublished. Poems should express the personal experience of the entrant, so please no translations! Brevity will be appreciated: if more than one poem is submitted, only one of the submitted poems may be more than thirty lines in length.

Entries must be received no later than October 18, the third Saturday in October, 2008. Entries should be submitted by mail to:

Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Prizes
PO Box 2306
Orinda, California 94563

Each poem must be printed on a separate sheet. Please submit two copies of each poem, with your name and address clearly marked on each page of one copy only. Please include an index card with your name and address, phone number, e-mail address and the title(s) of your poem(s). Poems submitted will not be returned. An entry fee of 10 dollars is required for submissions mailed in the United States: Checks should please be made out to Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Memorial Fund. Foreign entries are exempted from the entry fee because of the hassles of international payments.

This website ( has been prepared to share information about the Competition. Dorothy’s poems inspired the competition's emphasis on lyric poems celebrating the spirit of life. Further information concerning the Prizes may be posted here as the deadline approaches. Results will be announced on the website February 5th, 2009, and winners will be contacted shortly before that time.

No comments: