May 22, 2012

Philip Levine Prize in Poetry

$2000 prize and publication by Anhinga Press
Postmark Deadline: 9/30/2012
Previous Winners: Ariana Nadia Nash, Lory Bedikian, Sarah Wetzel, Shane Seely, Neil Aitken, Lynn Chandhok, Roxane Beth Johnson, Steve Gehrke, Fleda Brown.

Manuscript should be original poetry, not previously published in book form, 48-100 pages, no more than one poem per page. Include two manuscript title pages: one with name and contact information and one with the name of the manuscript ONLY. Manuscripts are screened and judged anonymously. Multiple submissions are fine as long as the manuscript is withdrawn immediately upon its acceptance elsewhere. The entry fee is $25. Checks should be made out to ÒFresno State (Levine Prize)Ó. Poets can submit more than one manuscript, but each will be considered a separate entry and must be accompanied by the $25 fee. Online payments can be made via credit or debit card at the link below. Please note, online entry fee is $25 plus an additional $3.38 service charge. The Vendini system resembles an event ticketing system, but is simply a method of accepting online credit and debit card payments.

Mail Entries to: Philip Levine Prize in Poetry Department of English, Mail Stop PB 98 5245 N. Backer Ave. California State University, Fresno Fresno, California 93740-8001
or email Connie Hales at

Cornelius Eady was born in 1954 in Rochester, New York. He is the author of several books of poetry, the most recent being the critically acclaimed "Hardheaded Weather" (Penguin, 2008), which has been nominated for an NAACP Image Award. His other titles are: "Kartunes," (Warthog Press, 1980); "Victims of the Latest Dance Craze," (Ommation Press, 1986), winner of the 1985 Lamont Prize from the Academy of American Poets; "The Gathering of My Name," (Carnegie Mellon University Press, 1991), nominated for the 1992 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry; "You DonÕt Miss Your Water," (Henry Holt and Co., 1995); "The Autobiography of a Jukebox" (Carnegie-Mellon University Press, 1997); and "Brutal Imagination" (Putnam, 2001). His work appears in many journals; magazines; and the anthologies "Every Shut Eye AinÕt Asleep," "In Search of Color Everywhere," and "The Vintage Anthology of African American Poetry," (1750-2000) ed. Michael S. Harper.

With poet Toi Derricote, Eady is cofounder of Cave Canem, a national organization for African American poetry and poets. He is the recipient of an NEA Fellowship in Literature (1985); a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship in Poetry, (1993); a Lila Wallace-Readers Digest Traveling Scholarship to Tougaloo College in Mississippi (1992-1993); a Rockefeller Foundation Fellowship to Bellagio, Italy, (1993); and The Prairie Schooner Strousse Award (1994). In June 1997, an adaptation of "You Don't Miss Your Water" was performed at the Vineyard Theatre, in New York City. In April 1999, "Running Man," a music-theatre piece co-written with jazz musican Diedre Murray, was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Drama and awarded a 1999 Obie for best musical score and lead actor in a musical.

Eady has taught poetry at SUNY Stony Brook, where he directed its Poetry Center; City College; Sarah Lawrence College; New York University; The WriterÕs Voice; The 92nd St Y; The College of William and Mary; and Sweet Briar College. In January 2002, a production of "Brutal Imagination" (with a score by Diedre Murray) opened at the Vineyard Theatre, where it won the 2002 Oppenheimer award for the best first play by an American Playwright.  At present he is Professor of English and the Miller Family Endowed Chair in Literature and Writing at the University of Missouri-Columbia.

No comments: